Scholarships in Australia

Scholarships in Australia are available to students of all nationalities who wish to study in Australia at undergraduate, postgraduate, and research levels. Scholarships are available from the federal and state governments, universities, and other organizations. Scholarships are awarded based on academic performance, financial need, and other criteria.

Scholarships to study in Australia

There are many grants, scholarships and bursaries available to Nepali and International students to assist financially with their studies in Australia. Numerous government and institution-specific scholarships are available and are intended to draw top students and those who want to work in the nation after graduation. 

The Australian government offers numerous scholarships to foreign students and contributes about $200 million annually to various programs at universities and other tertiary institutions across the nation. The University of Melbourne, The University of Sydney, and The Australian National University (ANU) are just a few of the finest universities in the nation that provide scholarships to study in Australia with extra benefits like health insurance.

Few Scholarships are

Australia Awards

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade is in charge of administering Australia Scholarships Scholarships, which are long-term and short-term awards.   According to bilateral and regional agreements, they seek to support the development requirements of Australia’s alliance partners to complete the study in Australia.

People from developing nations have the opportunity to enroll in full-time undergraduate or graduate programs at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions thanks to programs offered by the Australian Government.

The benefit of the Australia Awards

  • Full tuition fees
  • Return air travel
  • Establishment compensation
  • Support for Living Expenses

Destination Australia Scholarship (DAS)

The Destination Australia scholarship (DAS) is funded by the Australian Government Department of Education. The aim of this scholarship is to attract and support study in regional Australia, grow and develop regional Australian tertiary education providers, and offer students an excellent educational opportunity.
The Destination Australia Scholarship Program is designed for deserving students who want financial support to reside and pursue their education in rural Australia. The scholarships are supported by Australia’s Department of Education and are open to both native and foreign students.


  • Must be an international student
  • Hold a student visa for the scholarship’s duration
  • Are a commencing student
  • Are UQ alumni commencing a different program
  • Have a full offer to study an eligible program

$15,000 per year

Up to four years

Australian Government Research Training Program (RTP)

The Australian Government Research Training Program (RTP) is for both National and International Students
High-caliber overseas postgraduate students who intend to enroll in a research degree at Australian universities may apply for the RTP Scholarship Scheme, which is financed by the Australian Government. Applications are judged on their academic strength and potential for future research and to support both domestic and international students undertaking postgraduate research degrees.
Scholarships for RTP stipends are given out between February and November. Therefore, in order for your admission application and proof of your research experience (if applicable) to be taken into account during the appropriate award deadline, you must submit all necessary documentation


  • Budegt – $35,950
  • Stipend to help with living expenses
  • International health insurance
  • Tuition fee reductions

You must:

  • be an international postgraduate research student beginning or enrolled
  • possess a stellar academic record and strong research potential
  • possess an unconditional admissions offer, be enrolled in a PhD or master’s by research program at the University of Sydney, or both.